The Origins of REDemption Part 7

When last we left, I had finally broke through my writer’s block and had my ideas on how to write Part 3: every four years, the team would get into a new side adventure (for four total), and then two years later they would try to blow up the quarantine wall. By this time, the Immune Child would be eighteen years old.

First I set about writing an outline for Part 3. This gave a brief overview of what each side adventure would be.

It is par for the course that in post-apocalyptic stories, there will be some kind of religious fanatic clan that believes the ravaging of humanity was a curse from God for all the deviousness and mischief we engage in. Meeting a group like that became adventure 1.

At some point while I was trying to think of adventure 2, I had an image in my head of people docilely staggering into the arms of zombies while under the influence of some kind of drug. After all, people in OUR world use drugs to escape their problems, so I figured it was believable that people in the REDemption universe would do the same. I came up with an idea of how they would get this drug, and the rest of the adventure wrote itself.

At some point I wanted the team to rest, so I had them camp out at an old laboratory with a family called the McKinleys. At this point the Immune Child was old enough to start paying attention to girls, so I gave him a pleasant young lady to fawn over named Tara McKinley.

There were other side adventures, some of which required a lot of research. For example, at one point the team is held prisoner in a massive jail. I have no idea how jails are laid out, so I had to go to our good friend Google and type in “prison blueprints” and “jail blueprints.”

Aside from the four main side adventures, I also had the team run into other random enemies (and friends too, of course, but let’s face it: there’s no dramatic impact of meeting people who are nice to you!). In one of these, the team is accosted by a gang that uses a mix of tools and firearms to attack. I have to admit here: this scene was inspired by THE BOOK OF ELI (starring Denzel Washington), although in that fight his enemies don’t have guns. However, one of them does have a chainsaw.

At the same time I wrote the outline for Part 3, I also typed up Part 2. I worked on the outline when I was on break or lunch at work, and I typed when I was home. This allowed me to maximize my time and work at a faster pace. Usually I wait until a story is finished to type it up, but I knew that would be way too daunting of a task if I postponed it with this one.

Part 3 grew…and grew…and grew. I believe the handwritten version came out to well over 1,000 pages. (It’s in a desk drawer at home; I can always look to confirm later.) By the time I got to the end of it, the Immune Child had indeed taken off on the team. I like to think I gave him a good reason for taking off, but that judgment call is out of my hands now. It is suspended in limbo at the moment, but someday it will be in the hands of the readers.

The end of Part 3 gave me an immediate setup for Part 4: the team would have to relocate the Immune Child. However, they would have to be discreet/covert about it. After all, if they went to the trouble to blow up the quarantine wall (which of course was put there by the Federal government), then someone would be coming to look for answers. This provided an awesome dynamic: their need to relocate their savior while also avoiding their enemies.

The team flees from their usual base of operations to a backup hideout, which was a shopping mall. (I don’t think I need to point out that this was a clear reference to DAWN OF THE DEAD, but I will anyway.) Meanwhile in other parts of the country, people have started to get tired of the government’s semi-fascist ways, and they start to revolt. Suicide squads attack the Canadian and Mexican borders, where the Army and Marines are stationed to keep any infected from getting into our country. The squads drive explosive-filled jeeps at the stations and destroy them, which results in the infected getting over the border. If an area becomes too overrun by infected people, then the military bombs them…which, of course, causes even more chaos.

The government was clearly evil, but at this point I wanted to pull what I call my “Tarantino move.” Quentin Tarantino has a way of showing us the more likeable sides of his villains, like at the start of PULP FICTION when Vincent and Jules talk about TV shows and so on. The way I did that was by introducing an FBI agent named Bill Davidson, who is brought in to investigate some damage caused by the Unexpected Enemy. Being a Federal government agent, he is also expected to be an enemy of Molly and company. At first he is, but over time that changes.

I wasn’t sure how to have the team relocate the Immune Child, so for a while my progress on the outline halted. Never one to give myself too much downtime, I started to type up the massive text of Part 3. In the meantime, I kept thinking about how to describe their search for the savior.

I am proud to say that, unlike the struggle I had with Part 3, it didn’t take me too long before I found the inspiration for Part 4.

More on that in the next segment!

 

~~~~~Steve

6 thoughts on “The Origins of REDemption Part 7

Leave a Reply

