The Origins of REDemption Part 6

When last we left, I had decided to forge ahead with the story without Nick. My friend and former Vanderheyden Hall coworker Clarence was an amazing artist, so I had asked if he wanted to draw it. He asked for details of the story, and I gave him the outline for parts 1 and 2. To my joy, he got back to me and said he was VERY interested.

I got to work and tore through Part 2. The only section where I had trouble was the opening. Once I figured my way around that, the rest of the story wrote itself.

That is…until I got to Part 3.

I knew the Immune Child would be born by the end of Part 2. That was going to be the closer. This meant that Part 3 would be when Molly and her team start searching the West Coast for a geneticist and a lab where they can test the child’s blood. Keep in mind I also saw far ahead in the story, to a point where the Immune Child has grown up and become a jerk; he takes off on Molly and company.

In other words, he had to be OLD ENOUGH to take off. And at the beginning of Part 3, he was just a baby. That’s a hell of a lot of time to kill!

Before I even got to Part 3, I had a vague idea that Molly and her team would get in various “side adventures” during their search. After all, there’s no way you can go up and down a post-apocalyptic wasteland without running into adversaries that are NOT tied to your main mission. (This was reflective of yet another influence of Dungeons and Dragons: when running a campaign, there is something called a “random encounter” table, where the person running the game [known as the Dungeon Master] rolls dice to determine if the party runs into enemies while traveling to the next destination on their quest.)

However, what I hadn’t thought about was just how many side adventures to put them through. If the baby is a newborn at the start of Part 3, and I planned on the Immune Child taking off when he was 16-18 years old…well, shit, that’s a hell of a long time, which could result in a hell of a lot of side adventures! That’s anywhere from 5,840 to 6,570 days! And in a crazy world like the one I had invented, they could potentially get in a new adventure every single day!

Unless I wanted the comic book to be a half a million pages long, I needed to get a grip on how I was going to approach Part 3. I decided to put the project on hold until I figured this out.

Weeks went by. I grew more and more frustrated as time went on. Eventually I started reaching out to friends, even ones who I knew didn’t have a creative bone in their bodies, just to share the problem with them and see if one of them might accidentally say something that caused a breakthrough. I also figured that maybe the more I talked about it, the more I would think about it, and an idea would suddenly come.

Well, it did, but not during one of the times when I was carrying on endlessly about it.

I remember it so well. I was heading into my martial arts class when the whole thing blossomed in my mind like an atomic cloud. One minute there was nothing there. The next minute, the ideas were coming so fast and furious that they were searing my brain.

Every 4 years.

I could come up with 4 medium-sized side adventures that happened every 4 years. By that point, the Immune Child would be 16 years old. Then I could have one final event happen when he was 18. That would be Molly’s team attempting to blow up the quarantine wall. (Why 18? Because in our modern society, that is the age when people are legally recognized as “adults.”)

I want you also to notice the significance, dear readers, of what I laid out here. There were 4 side adventures, which we can also call “events,” while the team traveled the wastelands. Then the wall destruction mission was a fifth event.

Five major events.

The story was split into five parts.

See what I did there? 😉

Suddenly I had my outline for Part 3. Ideas for the 4 side adventures were pretty easy to whip up. When I got home that night, I set about writing a more detailed outline of Part 3. I knew that the Immune Child was going to be grown (and a jerk) by the end of this section, so that also helped me create an outline for Part 4. At this point my memory is a bit foggy, but I believe I was also able to roll right into the outline for Part 5 as well.

One other thing to keep in mind: the other piece of the story I was juggling involved that Unexpected Enemy. At this point I still had that antagonist making an appearance in Part 3. Over time, this would change, but I will get to that later.

I shared the new Part 3 outline with Clarence. It made his excitement for the story grow by leaps and bounds. His reaction convinced me of what I already knew: that I was really on to something special with this story.

Only time will tell if you agree. 🙂 Stay tuned for Part 7!

 

~~~~~Steve

 

2 thoughts on “The Origins of REDemption Part 6

Leave a Reply

