The Origins of REDemption Part 3

When we last left off, I was talking with my friend Nick about creating a zombie story told in 3 parts, due to my fanatical love of trilogies. I had to go to bed, but I told him I’d work on the outline the next day…and I was true to my word.

I conceived all of part 1 as a kind of “prologue.” It would show how the zombie virus started, how it spreads, how someone turns into a zombie, and how to kill a zombie.

My goal was to carefully hammer out the “rules” because one thing I hate about movies is when they play fast and loose with their own systems. Sometimes you’ll watch a zombie movie, and it takes people 3 days to change into zombies after they are bitten. However, there are times where, when it serves some dramatic purpose, another person turns into a zombie in MINUTES!!! I wanted to avoid that by laying out all the rules before I wrote even a single scene. Some back and forth with Nick accomplished that in no time.

With the rules written and an outline from start to finish conceived, I started writing. My pace was fairly standard at first: 3-6 pages per day. At this point I was still using the initial 24 pages from “Of Forces Beyond” as a template to guide me. However, some things needed some MAJOR expanding. For example, in the 24-page comic they decide they need to find the place where the virus originated, and in the next scene they’re there.

Well, wait a minute. You are in the middle of a jungle in Vietnam. How are you going to find a lab? Wouldn’t that require some investigating of some sort? Of course it would! So their search for the lab had to be expanded.

Also, in writing the outline, I came up with a unique way of telling each part:

*The beginning of each part was a flash forward. It was set in a time that actually fell sometime AFTER the “present” for that section of the story. EXAMPLE: In part 1, there is the little girl on the hillside in the 90’s, but the bulk of part 1 takes place during the Vietnam War.

*The next section would be a flashBACK, to a time that happened shortly before the beginning of that section. EXAMPLE: In part 1, there was a scene with some Vietnamese scientists and takes place just before we join Vincent and his comrades. (NOTE: Anyone reading the comic knows the scientist scene is nowhere to be found. More on that later.)

*Then we get to the “present” for that section of the story.

As I wrote part 1, I started to pick up steam, writing more furiously and producing more pages per day than I had for any story in years. I remember writing like a madman on Thanksgiving Day, and my ex-wife asking me if I was going to spend any time with the family.

It wasn’t that I didn’t want to, but I was like a man possessed. This story was in my head, just waiting for me to write it down on paper. I wasn’t so much writing it as discovering it.

At some point (maybe it was while I created the outline), I came up with an idea that sometime in the future there would be a child born that seemed to be immune to the virus. By this point the quarantine wall would have been built, and the West Coast would turn into a lawless no man’s land. Non-infected humans have banded together in the form of survivor groups. Each group looks out for themselves, as is par for the course in zombie fiction.

However, now the group into which this child is born has a chance to change all of that. If this child really is immune, then they could maybe bring an end to all of this madness.

But how?

In a world gone to hell, how are they supposed to find a geneticist who could help them test the blood? And how can they find a functional lab to do the testing? Even if they do find the lab, how can they mass produce the antidote? Then of course there is the problem of distribution. As anyone who has read the front page summary on this site knows, it is the quest for all these answers that drives the bulk of the story.

I ran the immune child by Nick, and he was pretty excited.

During that first conversation I had with him about it, he said, “I got an idea. How about the kid grows up to be a jerk?”

This was a stroke of genius to me. How many stories can you name where the person who is supposed to be a savior is an unlikeable asshole? I can’t think of many…or ANY. The question was: exactly how would he be a jerk? I notated the idea so I could come back to it later.

Oh, and I wanted to say that at this point, the story had a different title, suggested by Nick: INFECTDEAD. Since I had no title of my own to suggest, that was what I gave it.

That’s all for this week. Stay tuned for part 4!!!

 

Leave a Reply

