As the Webcomic Turns (and Various Updates)

For the first half of this week’s blog, I feel like singing the praises of a man some of you might not know. In fact, I am amazed that I even know who he is!

Any soap opera fans here? No? Well, then you might not catch the fact that this week’s blog title is a riff on the soap AS THE WORLD TURNS. I was/am not a soap opera fan either, but my grandmother and mom were. My childhood is filled by memories of summer afternoons being watched by my grandmother while mom worked. I would sit on one side of the living room, playing with GI Joe or He-man or the Secret Wars line of Marvel comic book superheroes, while grandma watched various soaps: AS THE WORLD TURNS, THE BOLD AND THE BEAUTIFUL, and THE YOUNG AND THE RESTLESS.

Out of all of these, THE YOUNG AND THE RESTLESS sticks out to me the most, mainly because of the character Victor Newman, portrayed by actor Eric Braeden. Victor was brought on to the show in 1980, and originally they planned to kill him off after 8-12 weeks. However, after watching Braeden’s performance, they decided to get him a contract. He turned into the show’s leading male character, and he has been on it for thirty-seven years.

Now THAT’S what’s up. I don’t think you see a lot of actors like Eric Braeden anymore. He has been playing the same gig for nearly four decades, but do you hear him whine about it? Does he complain that he is typecast? Has he ever come close to leaving the show over salary disputes? Did he flake out on the show and say it’s trash? Was there ever a time when he thought he wanted to pursue a film career, and then left the show to make a bunch of movies that bombed? Not that I am aware of.

The man is a rare breed. I admire that. To be honest, I wasn’t even aware of how rare he was. I had to do some last-minute research on him because I thought of the blog title…thought of how I wanted to explain the reference…and then had to do some Google searching.

At any rate, on to the second half of the blog!

**********
The week since the launch has been pretty good. On day 1 we had 71 hits. Not bad, considering there was no advertising!

Ever since then, we have averaged about 20 hits per day. There was a lull over the weekend, but that all changed around when I listed the comic on the Belfry Webcomics Index. I have also added it to other webcomic list sites like the Webcomic List and Webcomics Hub. I have also tried adding it to Top Webcomics and Comic Rocket, but I am running into some snafus there. They are being worked on.

As some of you may know, I was reading through old issues of Fangoria, specifically the “Elegy” section in the front, to get ideas as to what I should write here on a weekly basis. Unfortunately, what I discovered is that a lot of these articles fell into two categories: (1) Tony wrote up a “year in review” of horror films that had come out the previous year, or (2) he wrote about movies that were going to come out in the upcoming months.

I don’t have the time these days to keep up on all the upcoming horror novels/movies/comic books/video games, so I can’t do “upcoming releases” blogs. However, it did give me inspiration for other subject matter.

Visting the webcomic list sites has also inspired me. I need to start delving into the comics they list, finding ones that are similar in visuals and theme to ours, reach out, make friends…NETWORK. That’s the name of the game.

I look forward to building this comic, watching its audience grow, building friendships with other creative teams, connecting with people across the globe.

That’s what makes the internet such a wonderful thing! 🙂

 

~~~~~Steve G.

2 thoughts on “As the Webcomic Turns (and Various Updates)

Leave a Reply

